Home News Profiles Sports The Games COC China & Olympic Movement Beijing2008 Sport for All
Athens 2004

Home >> News >> General
2005 Laureus China Top Ten Athletes announced
2005-03-17 09:19:00   COC Website  


A grand, star-studded award ceremony of the 2005 Laureus China Top Ten Athletes was held in south China's Shenzhen on Wednesday March 16. Attending the two-hour ceremony were Li Zhijian, President of the All-China Sports Federation, He Huixian, Vice-President of the Chinese Olympic Committee and President of the China Sports Press Association, Edwin Moses, President of the Laureus World Sports Academy, officials of the Shenzhen Special Economic Zone government and personalities of various circles, who were telling the one identical theme of "Sport makes miracles."

Following is a list of the 2005 Laureus China Top Ten winners:

Lifetime Achievement Award: Yuan Weimin (former Director of the General Administration of Sport of China)
Sportsman of the Year: Liu Xiang (athletics)
Sportswoman of the Year: Zhang Yining (table tennis)
Coach of the Year: Chen Zhonghe (volleyball)
Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability: He Junquan (swimming)
Non-Olympic Athlete of the Year: Xie Jun (Chess)
Team of the Year: National Women's Volleyball Team
Breakthrough of the Year: Li Ting/Sun Tiantian (tennis)
Newcomer of the Year Women: Xing Huina (athletics)
Newcomer of the Year Men: Zhu Qinan (shooting)
Most Popular Athlete of the Year: Luo Xuejuan (swimming)

The First Laureus China Top Ten Athletes Awards held in 2004 originated from the selection of China top ten athletes, which had seen 24 editions.

Related Story
Chinese Olympic champions Liu, Xing nominated for Laureus Newcomer 03/09 10:41
Copyright © 2003 Chinese Olympic Committee. All rights reserved.
  Powered by China Interactive Sports.
ICP: Beijing ICP030713-2
Contact Us: webmaster@olympic.cn