Home >> News >> Olympic News

ITTF announces winners of Media Sholarship

2009-03-09 13:51:00 AIPS

LAUSANNE, March 9, 2009 - Each year the International Table Tennis Federation (ITTF) offers three media scholarships to young journalists under the age of 35 to attend the World Championships.

This year's winners will attend the H.I.S. 2009 World Table Tennis Championships in Yokohama, Japan.

They are:

- Ms. Julia WOLF, Germany, Hessischer Rundfunk/ARD German Television (TV)

- Ms. DENG Feifei, China, sports.sina.com.cn (online)

- Mr. Mickaël CARON, France, Le Journal du Dimanche (weekly newspaper)

"We have had more than 50 applications and the standard of the applications was very high. It has been a difficult task to select winners of the media scholarships," ITTF Media Committee Chairman Arne Madsen said of this year's nominations.

He thanked AIPS for supporting and publishing the ITTF media scholarship offer on its website.

Two Women among 2009 Scholarship winners

The high quality of the applications was not the only reason that satisfied MADSEN: "We are very happy that one out of three applications came from a woman journalist."

Last year's scholarship holders, Olalekan Okusan of Nigeria, Umair Hassan Syed of Pakistan and Philip Stallmeister, Germany were all male after only one application from a woman had reached the ITTF. According to a self-defined ITTF policy, at least one scholarship should be offered to a female journalist.

Japan hosts for 6th time

The H.I.S. 2009 World Table Tennis Championships in Yokohama will be staged from 28th April to 5th May. The five events, Men's and Women's Singles, Men's and Women's Doubles as well as Mixed Doubles, will all be played in the Yokohama Arena, one of the largest multipurpose indoor arenas in Japan.

A World Championship has been held five times previously in Japan. Tokyo first hosted it in 1956. Since then, the championships were held at Nagoya in 1972, Tokyo in 1983, Chiba in 1991, and Osaka in 2001. Only one country has hosted the event more often; England organised it seven times between 1926 (London) and 1997 (Manchester).