Home >> News >> Olympic News

24 teams confirmed for FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments

2019-09-20 13:49:00 Xinhuanet

BEIJING, Sept. 19 (Xinhua) -- FIBA announced on Thursday all 24 participating teams at the FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments following the conclusion of FIBA Basketball World Cup and release of latest FIBA World Ranking.

Spain, France, Argentina, the United States, Australia, Nigeria, and Iran directly qualified for the 12-team Tokyo Olympic Games, joining the tournament's hosts Japan.

The remaining four spots will be decided through FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments featuring 24 sides in total, namely the 16 best-placed non-qualified teams from the FIBA World Cup and two highest-ranked teams from Europe, Africa, Americas, and Asia-Oceania respectively.

China, finishing 24th at the FIBA World Cup as the hosts are placed 27th on the FIBA World Ranking, thus earning a spot in Olympic qualifiers as one of two highest-ranked Asian teams.

24 participants of FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments are Angola, Brazil, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Germany, Greece, Italy, South Korea, Lithuania, Mexico, New Zealand, Poland, Puerto Rico, Russia, Senegal, Serbia, Slovenia, Tunisia, Turkey, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Winners of each of the four FIBA Olympic Qualifying Tournaments, taking place from June 23-28, 2020, will round off the list of Tokyo Olympic Games participants. Enditem

Find an athlete