Home >> News >> Sports News

Gymnastics: FIG Congress Official News

2008-10-28 11:27:00

Helsinki (FIN), October 18 – 20, 2008
The 77th Ordinary General Assembly was held at the Marina Congress Centre in Helsinki, where convened some 90 of the 130 federations affiliated to the FIG.

An extract of significant decisions and events:

  • The International Olympic Committee’s “Women and Sport” Diploma was awarded to Ms Kirsti Partanen, President of the Finnish Gymnastics Federation, by FIG President Prof. Bruno Grandi for her contribution to the advancement of her country’s federation;
  • On behalf of the Finnish Government, Minister of Sport and Culture Mr Stefan Wallin decorated Mr Bruno Grandi and Mr Norbert Bueche, FIG President and Honorary Vice President respectively, with Finland’s Order of Sport Merit;
  • The President announced attribution of the “Athlete of the Year” award to American Olympic champion Nastia Liukin;
  • In recognition of the impeccable organisation of the Olympic Games, the FIG bestowed the silver medal of recognition to Ms Wang Tongjie, Competitions Director in Beijing;
  • President Grandi presented a copy of Girolamo Mercuriale’s Arte Ginnastica to each delegation on behalf of his native city of Forli (ITA);
  • The President of the Gymnastics for All Committee, Ms Margaret Sikkens-Ahlquist (SWE) presented a new document published by the FIG and entitled  Gymnastics for All Apparatus;
  • The Four-Year Plan, various financial reports and Federation budgets were unanimously accepted;
  • Member fees remain unchanged for the new cycle;
  • Paraguay (PAR) and the Comoros (COM) were admitted as affiliated and associated federations respectively;
  • The federations of Angola, Congo, Lesotho, Cambodia and Cameroon have been suspended. Burundi, the Cook Islands and Montenegro have been excluded for non-payment of fees;
  • The Assembly approved proposed modifications to the Statutes which were proposed by the FIG Executive Committee;
  • The President of the FIG expressed his desire to organise a Symposium given entirely to the legal aspects of the Federation’s management;
  • The Assembly renewed its authorities. The incumbent President, Prof. Bruno Grandi (ITA) and the 3 vice presidents, Dr Michel Léglise (FRA), Ms Slava Corn (CAN) and Mr Koji Takizawa (JPN) were re-elected by a large majority vote. This will be Bruno Grandi’s 4th mandate, elected for the first time in 1996 at the Atlanta Congress;
  • Presidents and Technical Presidents Margaret Sikkens-Ahlquist (SWE – Gymnastics for All), Adrian Stoica (ROU - MAG), Nellie Kim (BLG – WAG), Horst Kunze (GER – TRA) were re-elected. New Technical Presidents were elected to the following disciplines: for Rhythmic Gymnastics, Ms Maria Szyszkowska (POL), for Aerobic Gymnastics, Ms Mireille Ganzin (FRA), and for Acrobatic Gymnastics, Ms Tonya Case (USA);
  • Four federations have shown interest in hosting the 78th Congress in 2010. These are Turkey, Great Britain, India and Egypt. The Executive will attribute organisation of the Congress in the spring of 2009.

(Credit: FIG)