Home >> News >> Sports News

ISU World Junior Speed Skating Championships 2010 - Moscow (RUS)

2010-03-15 11:27:00 ISU

14 Mar 2010 - Dutch skaters Lotte van Beek and Koen Verweij are the 2010 Junior World champions. 40 Ladies and 30 men participated in the allround competition, and as just like last year also titles on single distances could be earned, even more skaters participated in some of the single distances. On the fast ice junior track records were improved in all distances.


Yekaterina Aydova (KAZ) became world champion in the 500m, winning both 500m races in 39.18 and 38.95 (both track records for juniors) Her total time was 1:18.13. Janine Smit (NED) took third on the distance with 39.70 and 39.55. Smit and Aydova did not participate in the allround competition. Of the allround skaters, Karolina Erbanova (CZE) was fastest in the 500m with 39.44. She also started on the second 500m but did not finish. Lotte van Beek finished second on this distance with 39.63 and took silver on the 500m with a second race of 39.60. Hege Bøkko (NOR) took third with 39.78. On the 1500m, the same three skaters reached the podium, this time Van Beek became champion in 1:57.95, which was much faster than the 1:59.32 with which Bøkko finished second in that distance, and 1:59.77 was Erbanova’s time. This meant that after the first day, Lotte van Beek was already in the lead. She only increased the gap by winning the 1000m in 1:17.00. Bøkko again was second in 1:17.40 and Erbanova needed 1:18.01 for the distance. Roxanne van Hemert (NED) and Ida Njåtun (NOR) were the only two others to skate the kilometer within 1 minute 19.

The final 3000m was the third distance in which Lotte van Beek was the strongest with 4:12.25 and she gathered 159.487 points. Hege Bøkko did not manage to reach the podium again, but her time – 4:16.57 – was enough not only for the fifth place on the distance, but for the silver medal overall. She had 161.014 points. Karolina Erbanova had the task on the 3000m to stay well ahead of Roxanne van Hemert, which she managed. Finishing in 13th place with 4:25.12, she had a total of 162.554 points and with Van Hemert not in optimal shape and finishing in just 4:18.76, that was enough for the overall bronze medal. Van Hemert was 4th, Njåtun 5th overall. Best Russian skater was Yelena Sokhryakova, who finished 6th, and finished with 4:15.50 on the 3000m podium in third place, behind Dutch Yvonne Nauta (4:14.29).

The Dutch ladies’ team with Lotte van Beek, Roxanne van Hemert and Yvonne Nauta won the Team Pursuit in a junior world record time of 3:08.35. Second was Japan and third Korea.

On Saturday, Lotte van Beek won the 1000, 3000, allround and on Sunday the Team Pursuit. “Especially the 3000 went very easily, I didn’t feel tired in the last laps. I knew that Bøkko would start fast and that I should stay close and then leave her behind in the last laps. It went all above expectation. And next year I am still a junior and can skate here again.”


On the 500m men, we saw a Polish winner. Sprinter Artur Nogal skated twice a track record for juniors: 35,89 and 35.73, a total of 1:11.62. Richard MacLennan (CAN) finished second in 1:11.79 (35.84 his best time) and Alexey Bondarchuk (KAZ) got bronze. None of these skaters skated the allround competition. Of the allround skaters, Brian Hansen (USA) was the best 500m-skater, with 36.50. The youngest participant, Junya Miwa (JPN, ’94) was 0.04 slower, but was not strong on the other distances. After the 3000m, it became clearer who belonged to the favourites. Koen Verweij (NED) won in 3:43.54. This brought him the lead as he also had a good 36.76 in the 500m. Brian Hansen also finished on the 3000m podium with 3:47.60, with Sverre Lunde Pedersen (NOR) between them in 3:47.05. Hansen was now in second place, Lunde Pedersen was third.

On the 1500m, Brian Hansen was a special category, winning in 1:46.83, more than a second ahead of Koen Verweij. The Dutchman was second in 1:47.96, and Antoine Gelinas-Beaulieu (who also skates short track), was third with 1:48.44. Lunde Pedersen was fourth. This opened up the competition between Hansen and Verweij, but Verweij clearly won the final 5000m in 6:25.15 and gathered 148.517 points. Brian Hansen lost 8 seconds to him on the 5000m, but still finished in second place both on the distance with 6:33.89 and overall with 149.432 points. Antoine Gelinas-Beaulieu finished on the podium again with 6:34.66 and was third overall with 150.748. Sverre Lunde Pedersen was fourth again with 6:36.82, and finished with 151.179 just outside the overall podium.

The men also skated a 1000m, only as a single distance. Their 3000m does not bring an individual title. Brian Hansen became the world junior champion on the 1000m with 1:10.81. It was close among the top-4. Richard MacLennan was second in 1:10.93 and both Koen Verweij and Laurent Dubreuil (CAN) finished in 1:10.97. It turned out that Verweij was the fastest of the two with 1:10.973 versus 1:10.977 so he could add a bronze medal to his collection.

The Norwegian men (Sverre Lunde Pedersen, Håvard Holmefjord Lorentzen and Simen Nilsen) won the Team Pursuit by beating the strong Koreans in a very exciting final with 3:54.54 versus 3:54.57. It was the first time in history that the Dutch men did not win. They finished third; after losing in the semifinals – they started too fast and had to ‘pay’ in the end – Frank Hermans, Maurice Vriend and Koen Verweij set a junior world record in the finals: 3:53.09, thus making the USA chanceless.

Find an athlete