Home >> News >> Sports News

Yong Dae voted into BWF Athletes Commission

2010-11-01 11:58:00 BWF

October 29, 2010 - Olympic champion Lee Yong Dae is among one of three players who was voted into the Badminton World Federation Athletes Commission for a four-year term effective 1 Nov 2010.

Joining Yong Dae, who won the 2008 Olympic gold medal in the mixed doubles with Lee Hyo Jung, are Scotland’s Emma Mason and Peru’s Rodrigo Pacheco.

In close voting, Emma, Pacheco and Yong Dae came out tops from a field of five candidates.

The Badminton Players Federation conducted its polls for three days during the Dutch Open (19-21 Oct) and ongoing Denmark Open Super Series (26-28 Oct).

The trio will also be joined by two other players who were elected at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing – Kaveh Mehrabi of Iran and Tania Luiz from Australia.

International Olympic Committee Athlete Commission member Pedro Yang of Guatemala is an ex-officio member of the BWF Athletes Commission.

The BWF Athletes Commission will now meet to elect its Chairman who automatically becomes a BWF Council member with full voting rights.

The elections were held on 19-21 October for the Dutch Open and from 26-28 October for the Denmark Open.

Find an athlete